County Board members sworn in


OREGON – Newly elected and re-elected members of the Ogle County Board were sworn in for their terms at a special organizational meeting in Oregon on Monday, Dec. 3.

The members were sworn in my Judge Robert Hanson. New members include Benjamin Youman, Lloyd Droege, Stanley Asp, Susie Corbitt, Dean Fox and Todd McLester.

Returning board members sworn in included Rick Fritz, Patricia Nordman, Wayne Reising, Greg Sparrow, Bruce McKinney, John “Skip” Kenney, Martin Typer, Dan Janes, Dorothy Bowers and Lyle Hopkins.

Kim Gouker was again voted in as chairman of the board. Unlike the last time he was name to the post in 2016, he had no opposition and was voted in unanimously.

In 2016, he was challenged by Dorothy Bowers, but won by a vote of 17-7. This year, Bowers made the motion for Gouker to be named chairman.

John Finfrock was also unanimously voted in again as vice chairman.

“First of all, thank you,” Gouker said to the board after the vote. “We’ve got a lot to do in the next few years, not the least is the new jail.”

The board will hold its last meeting of the year on Tuesday, Dec. 18 at 5:30 p.m.