Byron co-op swim, dive team again wins championship


BYRON — The Byron Co-op girls swimming and diving team won the Northern Illinois Independent Conference Championship for the third consecutive season on Saturday, Nov. 2. The team scored 334 points to win the varsity competition and 358 points to take first in the junior varsity competition.

Laci Long and Kaci McKnight took first and second in the 1-meter diving finals with scores of 421.80 and 255.90. Byron won the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 1:54.48 and Jenna Hale won the 200-yard freestyle with a time of 2:07.01. Hailey Groharing won the 200-yard individual medley with a time of 2:17.83 and Audrey Kilmer won the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 24.94 seconds.

Kate Schilling won the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 1:01.26 and Emily Marshall finished third in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 58.12. Schilling won the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 5:35.61 and Byron won the 200-yard freestyle relay with a time of 1:43.67. Kilmer won the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 1:01.64 and Groharing won the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:11.29. Byron took second in the 400-yard freestyle relay with a time of 3:56.41.