Byron Middle School

Wrestling: Byron Middle School wins Route 72 tournament

Tigers crown nine conference champions


WINNEBAGO — The Byron Middle School wrestling team won the Route 72 Conference Championship tournament at Winnebago High School on Tuesday, Feb. 20. The varsity team had five conference champions and the JV team had four conference champions in the meet.

Cohen Considine won the Varsity 75 Division with a fall over Harvard’s Juan Rosales. Caleb Altensy won the Varsity 85 Division, securing back-to-back falls against Oregon’s Kendra Ege and Polo’s Landry Mumford. Aiden Salo won the Varsity 90 Division with a fall over Winnebago’s Barrett McLain and an 11-2 major decision over Genoa-Kingston’s Trevor Gilbert.

Dylan Meyer won the Varsity 119 Division with a 3-0 record, earning falls over Harvard’s Jaxin Golliher and Genoa-Kingston’s Jacob Rutkowski before scoring a 6-3 decision against North Boone’s Gabe Marella. Riley Boyer won the Varsity 155 Division with a fall over North Boone’s Manuel De La Luz-Micek and an 8-0 major decision over Genoa-Kingston’s Hunter Wendt.

Boe Bastian won the JV 75 Division with a 7-5 decision against Harvard’s Finn Crone. Elijah Whitlock won the JV 80 Division with falls over Harvard’s Mason Berkholtz, Harvard’s Kason Finfrock and Oregon’s Logan Rasner. Darien Whitlock won the JV 85 Division with falls over Oregon’s Kaeson Garcia, Meridian’s Michael Mutimer and Oregon’s Richard Folk. Johnny Hazzard won the JV 90 Division with a fall over Winnebago’s Ethan Hansen.